A temporary license is an insurance producer license that has a term of up to 180 days issued without your having to pass an insurance examination under one of the following circumstances:
- You are a surviving spouse or court-appointed representative of an insurance producer who died or became mentally or physically disabled.
- You are an employee or member of the business entity whose designated responsible license producer died or became disabled.
- A licensed insurance producer who entered active service in the United States armed forces designated you to take over the producer's insurance business.
WHO MUST BE LICENSED
You can only sell, solicit or negotiate a line of insurance in Arizona if you are licensed as an insurance producer for that line of authority
. If you are involved in the sale, solicitation or negotiation of insurance, you must be licensed as an insurance producer unless (ARS § 20-283)
- You are an Arizona-authorized insurance company.
- You are an officer, director or employee of an insurance company, you do not receive a commission based on the sale of insurance and your activites are limited to
- executive, administrative, managerial or clerical duties that are at most indirectly related to selling, soliciting or negotiating insurance; OR,
- underwriting, loss control, inspection, or claims adjusting; OR
- providing technical advice and assistance to insurance producers (excluding selling, soliciting or negotiating insurance); OR
- servicing an existing policy.
- You are employed to obtain information to enroll individual members in group life, group annuities, group or blanket accident and health or sickness or mass-marketed property and casualty insurance plans, and you do not receive a commission.
- You are an employer (or its officer or director), association (or its officer or director), or employee trust plan (or its employee or trustee), and you are administering employee benefits for the employer, association or employee trust plan (or its affiliates).
- You only develop advertising without the intent to solicit insurance in Arizona through media whose distribution is not limited to Arizona residents.
- You are not a resident of Arizona AND you are selling, soliciting or negotiating property or casualty insurance for an insured that has risks in multiple states AND you are licensed as an insurance producer in the state where the insurer has its principal place of business and the insurance covers risks in that state.
- You counsel your employer about your employer's insurance interests, you do not sell or solicit insurance, and you do not receive a commission.
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (not an exhaustive list)
Not everyone qualifies for an insurance license
. The Department can deny a license for any cause listed in Arizona Revised Statutes ("ARS") § 20-295
. You should review this statute before deciding to spend the time, effort and money to apply for a license. If you apply for a license, you must truthfully and completely answer questions asked on the application, and you may need to provide additional documentation.
|Be the minimum age
||Individuals must be at least 18 years old. ARS § 20-285(B)(1)
|Maintain a principal place of business
||You must have and maintain a location where you keep usual and customary records pertaining to transactions under your license. ARS § 20-290(A)
||You do not need to pass an exam for a temporary license. ARS § 20-294(A)
(nonrefundable per ARS § 20-167(A))
||Submit fingerprints for individuals and business-entity members, officers, directors and owners (regardless of where the members, officers and directors reside). ARS §§ 20-142(E), 20-285(E)(2)
|Fulfill license eligibility requirement (individual applicant)
ARS § 41-1080
If you are a surviving spouse or court-appointed representative of an insurance producer who died or became mentally or physically disabled:
- For a deceased licensee, a death certificate. For a disabled licensee, an original of a statement from the licensee's physician describing the licensee's disability and certifying that the licensee is unable to perform the functions under the license; AND
- Official evidence that you are the producer's surviving spouse, next of kin, estate administrator or its employee, or estate executor or its employee.
If you are an employee or member of the business entity whose designated responsible license producer died or became disabled:
- For a deceased license, a death certificate. For a disabled licensee, an original of a statement from the licensee's physician describing the licensee's disability and certifying that the licensee is unable to perform the functions under the license; AND
- An original notarized statement from a principal of the business entity describing why the temporary license is necessary and attesting to the fact that the selected member or employee shall be authorized to act on behalf of the business entity.
If a licensed insurance producer who entered active service in the armed forces of the United States designated you to take over the producer's insurance business:
- An original notarized statement from an appropriate military officer certifying the producer's entrance into active duty, or copies of signed enlistment or induction papers..
|Apply for the license
Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] using Form L-TEMP
|View your license
||View your license