Producer (agent/broker)

DEFINITION

An insurance producer (formerly known as an insurance agent or insurance broker) is an individual or business authorized to sell, solicit or negotiate insurance. ARS § 20-281(5). Click here to see available lines of license authority.

WHO MUST BE LICENSED

You can only sell, solicit or negotate a line of insurance in Arizona if you are licensed as an insurance producer for that line of authority. If you are involved in the sale, solicitation or negotation of insurance, you must be licensed as an insurance producer unless (ARS § 20-283)...

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS (not an exhaustive list)

Not everyone qualifies for an insurance license. The Department can deny a license for any cause listed in Arizona Revised Statutes ("ARS") § 20-295. You should review this statute before deciding to spend the time, effort and money to apply for a license. If you apply for a license, you must truthfully and completely answer questions asked on the application, and you may need to provide additional documentation.

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS Common to All Applicants
Be the minimum age Individuals must be at least 18 years old. ARS § 20-285(B)(1)
Maintain a principal place of business You must have and maintain a location where you keep usual and customary records pertaining to transactions under your license. ARS § 20-290(A)
Fees
(nonrefundable per ARS § 20-167(A))
SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS For Arizona Residents For Residents of Other States (Arizona Non-residents) For Relocating to Arizona from Outside Arizona
Pass an exam (individual applicant) You must pass an exam unless you are applying for a limited-line travel insurance producer license. ARS §§ 20-284, 20-285(A) and 20-288 Not required. Must be licensed in good standing in your home state. ARS § 20-287 Not required if we receive your license application within 90 days after you cancel your insurance license in your former home state and you submit a clearance letter from that state.
Submit fingerprints Most applicants must submit fingerprints for individuals and business-entity members, officers, directors and owners (regardless of where the members, officers and directors reside). ARS §§ 20-142(E), 20-285(E)(2) Not required. Most applicants must submit fingerprints for individuals and business-entity members, officers, directors and owners (regardless of where the members, officers and directors reside).. ARS §§ 20-142(E), 20-285(E)(2)
Fulfill license eligibility requirement (individual applicant) Form L-152
ARS § 41-1080
Not required. Form L-152
ARS § 41-1080
Apply for the license      
  • Individual

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] either

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] either

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] using Form L-169

  • Business entity

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] either

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] either

Apply [ARS §§ 20-285(A)] using Form L-176
View your license View your license View your license View your license

 Close Window