|JANE DEE HULL
|JOHN A. GREENE
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
2910 North 44th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix, Arizona 85018-7256 · (602) 912-8456 · FAX: (602) 912-8452
|Executive Assistant Director||FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE|
|602-912-8456||December 15, 1997|
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE PUBLISHES LATEST COMPARISON OF AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE PREMIUMS
John A. Greene, Director of Insurance, announced today the availability of the Arizona Insurance Department's Fall "Automobile Premium Comparison Survey" that is published twice annually to encourage consumers to compare prices when purchasing personal automobile insurance. Greene cautioned that "although price is always a consideration, consumers should also consider an insurer's claims handling and policyholder service, the insurer's overall reputation and the type of insurance contract and coverage available."
Sixty-nine insurers, writing approximately 90% of the personal automobile insurance written in Arizona, provided the quotations contained in the 53 page Survey. Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa, Glendale, Tucson, Casa Grande, Flagstaff, Nogales, Safford, and Yuma were the locales for 12 different hypothetical drivers whose ages vary as do their driving records and vehicle use. Additionally, the Survey provides a list of insurer telephone numbers and an information page describing basic insurance coverages. Greene said the information page provides a starting point for prospective applicants to use in considering coverages, but recommended that applicants ask their insurance agents about the details of the coverage and suggested that applicants read the insurance policy before purchasing it.
Another Department publication, the "Complaint Ratio," is also available. The Complaint Ratio compares the number of written complaints against an insurance company received by the Department to the number of policies the insurer had in force for the prior calendar year. The Complaint Ratio is particularly useful to the purchaser of automobile insurance when reviewed with the Survey.
"Consumers should also be aware that Arizona has a noncancellation law limiting the reasons an insurer may cancel a personal automobile insurance policy in effect for more than 60 days. Some reasons include failure to pay premium and having been convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. However, insurers may cancel a policy for any reason during the first 60 days the policy has been in effect. Consumers who change insurance companies should be especially careful to avoid citations or accidents during this initial sixty-day period," Greene stated.
Those wishing to receive the Automobile Premium Comparison Survey and the latest available Complaint Ratio may obtain copies by writing to the CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION, Arizona Department of Insurance, 2910 North 44th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix, Arizona 85018, or by calling the Consumer Services Division in Phoenix at (602) 912-8444 or in Tucson at (520) 628-6370. The Survey, the Complaint Ratio, and "The Most Frequently Asked Questions" (Automobile) are also available at http://www.state.az.us/id on the World Wide Web.